Tech Ramblings…

By Dr. T

blog…what blog??? prepare to be assimilated….

Writers block…

But wait, its just cured. Just now, I was talking to a friend of mine whose a doctor. He asked me simple question. “What is a blog, its supposedly the IN thing. I want to know more about it so that I can jump on it too…”.

Simple enough answer right. But no, since I’m a techie, I suffer from what the people call “number of electricians changing a light bulb” syndrome. I’ll start off real simple and even though I know the other person has got the real gist of things, but I want to go on and on and explain to him in finer details.

And there I go. Social networking, RSS feeds, posts, ping back….BUT WAIT, not this time. This time I simply let my mind wander off like Dr. John Dorrian from Scrubs and stopped right there instead of ‘thinking out loud’.

So instead of doing what I usually WOULD HAVE done under normal circumstances and explaining in long detail about what a blog is, I just answered and I quote myself in msn messenger text:


//Tashfeens Chat with his physician friend whose a non techie and wants to know more about Blogging


Tashfeen – says:
its some peoples way of saying that they currently are trying to expand their social life without getting out of their cozy homes…and some are more successful than others…

friend says:
but how does it work. how do run a blogg?

Tashfeen says:
just visit any blog site like:

// Here the author gives his friend web urls of various blog sites…

Tashfeen says:
and make a blog…

friend says:
hmmm , nah man ive already t much to do…

friend says:
wudnt wanna add another thing to my list..

now wasnt that too simple. Its not like i’ve told him to initiate the warp reactor by fiddling with the quantum matrix crystals :p…therefore proof, that most people shy away from blogs because they think that blogs are too technical and hence only for techies…

still the trend is fast catching on…


Question: What is a blog?
Answer: GEEKS R US…prepare to be assimilated…

enjoy the weekend…:)

fire.JPG

September 12, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. It does take effort to do a blog well, and it takes good, intuitive blog software to make it easy for non-techies to jump the “I’m too afraid of this technology” hurdle. Start with good blog software, like here at WordPress.com, and then the rest is just learning how to write for your audience.

    Comment by mac | September 13, 2006 | Reply

  2. I agree. It does take a lot of effort and initiative to write and maintain a blog. And an intuitive software does help a great deal. Thanks for the comment Mac.

    Comment by tashfeen | September 13, 2006 | Reply

  3. […] Read the rest of this post […]

    Pingback by What is a blog? What is a weblog? / blog…what blog??? prepare to be assimilated…. | May 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

